

Stars In Their Eyes

Which one of the 16 candidates will be chosen to wear the crown and the royal robe of the Beta Sigma Phi Queen is the big question for all Beta Sigma Phis of the South Bay as they await their annual "Stardust Ball" Saturday evening. Mrs. Lester Teeters, center, models the robe for candidates, with stars in their eyes, from left, Mmes. Robert Niedzwiecki, Rho Epsi-lon; Charles Pike, Mu Omicron; Stanley Nelson, Xi Zeta Chi; and James Weatherman, Alpha Alpha Ome-

# Passport to Fashion Benefit on April 10

Las Madrecitas, Auxiliary to the Crippled Children's Guild of Orthopaedic Hospital, will again present its annual "Passport to Fashion" event on April 10 at the Proud Bird. Highlight of the fashion show and luncheon will be the Headdress Parade.

A "hint of the Far East" will be accented in decorations for the affair which will begin with a social hour at 11:30 followed by the luncheon at 12:30 p.m.

A special attraction in the fashion extravaganza will be an exclusive showing of spring and summer creations by Helga.

☆ ☆ ☆ Mrs. Roger Lancaster and Mrs. Richard Saroyan are serving as general chairmen of the benefit. Heading other committees are Mmes. Garth Bower and William Mayhall, decorations; Donald Black, invitations; John Ashford, reservations; Mark Roessler, printing; R. W. Speich, door prizes.

☆ ☆ ☆ Others are Mmes. Howard Anderson, Headdress Parade chairman; Sid Fleischman and Fredrick Gledhill, publicity.

(Press-Herald Photo)

### South Bay Council Beta Sigma Phi

## Sweethearts Dance at Gala Stardust Ball

Saturday evening several hundred Beta Sigma Phi, from the 16 chapters in the South Bay Council, with their escorts, will gather at Lococo's restaurant for their annual "Stardust Ball." The cocktail hour is slated for 6:30 followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m.

Highlight of the evening will be the crowning of a Queen and Princess chosen from representatives of the chapters. The coveted "Friendship" award will also be given to the candidate chosen by other queen contestants.

Music for dancing, beginning at 9:30 p.m., will be furnished by the Jerry Hanlon band.

Mrs. James Barnhart is serving as general chairman for the Stardust Ball and has been assisted by a committee, comprised of a member from each chapter.

Alvy Moore, actor, presently appearing in the television show "Green Acres" will serve as master of ceremonies as well as a judge. He will be accompanied by Mrs. Moore, a junior past president of the Southern California Beta Sigma Phi Council.

Others serving as judges are Wray Davis, owner-producer of

Capitol Films: Mrs. Dotte Ludwig, Vance Skastedt, screen writer, and Mary Ann Lee.

Mrs. John Cronander, Xi Nu Upsilon, Queen of the 1968 Sweetheart Ball, will crown her successor. Miss Becky Hamilton, Phi Zeta Tau, who has held the title of princess. will place the crown on the 1969-70 Princess.

A colorful theme of red, white and shades of pink will be carried out in arrangements of roses and carnations enhanced with the Valentine Cupid.

A Princess and one runnerup will be chosen from the Nu Phi Mu chapters; Phi Gamma Sigma, Gardena, Miss Susan Hawk; Phi Zeta Rho, Torrance, Miss Pam Abernathy: Phi Zeta Sigma, Hawthorne, Miss Orva Quimby; and Phi Zeta Tau, Gardena, Miss Mary Middleton

\* \* \* One Queen and a runner-up will be chosen from Alpha Al-

Press-Derald

Social World

#### Edna Cloyd, Editor

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 1969

B-1

pha Omega, Torrance, Mrs.

James Weatherman; Delta

Chi, San Pedro, Mrs. Richard

Hussey; Mu Omicron, Tor-

rance, Mrs. Charles Pike;

Omicron Eta, Inglewood, Mrs.

Joseph Kinsley; Rho Epsilon,

Gardena, Mrs. Robert Niedz-

wiecki; Rho Xi, Redondo

Beach, Mrs. Robert Crawford:

Xi Kappa Eta, San Pedro, Mrs.

George Dolan; Xi Nu Upsilon,

Palos Verdes, Mrs. Marvin

Scott: Xi Theta Xi, Gardena,

Mrs. Diane Ryan; Xi Zeta Chi,

Gardena, Mrs. Stanley Nelson:

Xi Zeta Lambda, Torrance,

Miss Pauline Stern; and Pre-

ceptor Alpha Beta, Gardena,

Mrs. Jacqueline Pinkney.

# Who Will He Be? Legal Secretaries to Name 'Boss of Year'

Meeting to work out first plans for their major ben-

efit, a Fashion Luncheon and Headdress Parade, these

Las Madrecitas committee members create atmos-

phere with an Oriental Tea ceremony. They are, from left, Mmes. Roger Lancaster, chairman; Richard Saro-

yan, co-chairman; and Howard S. Anderson, Headdress

Parade chairman. This "Passport to Fashion" event

In

Club

Spotlight

Municipal Court Judge Thomas P. Foye has been busy judging nomination letters of the South Bay Legal Secretaries to determine who their "Boss of the Year" will be. His Honor's decision will be announced on Feb. 18, at the Plush Horse Restaurant, in the Banbury Room. Judge Foye together with Superior Court Judge William B. Keene will preside over the meeting along with Jane Shipkey, association preside

Judge Foye is a newly appointed Municipal Court Judge to the South Bay Court. A resident of Manhattan Beach, he formerly practiced law in Manhattan Beach before his apntment to the bench. He is a Beach, as well as past president of the South Bay Bar Association.

Judge Keene is currently presiding judge, Criminal Department in Los Angeles. A former South Bay Municipal Court Judge, he was also Deputy District Attorney of Los Angeles County from 1953-1957.

South Bay Legal Secretaries extend an invitation to all officers and members of other local Legal Secretaries Associations and all interested persons to attend this dinner meeting and join them in what should prove to be a most enjoyable "fun" evening. Reservations and information may be obtained from Virginia



Touch

of the

Far East





Past Prexys Take A Bow

Past presidents of the Torrance Woman's Club were guests of honor at the club's catered luncheon last Wednesday at the clubhouse. Thanked by the club for their leadership in the past were, from left, Mmes. Juliet Johnson, Helen Silligo, J. G. Louvier, C. B. Mitchell, Don Wolf, Lee Stamps and Earl Miles.

Other prominent clubwomen, who directed the Torrance Woman's club in the past and were paid a special tribute at last Wednesday's meeting were, from left, Mmes. R. E. Moffitt, James R. Wilkes, Chris Jones, James R. Mullen, H. L. Mitchell, H. F. Heinlein, Grover C. Van Deventer, H. R. Richards and Dean Sears. (Press-Herald Photos)