Agajanian Is The Recruiter

J. C. Agajanian, racing promoter and car owner, will be at the Indianapolis 500 for the 21st year with his famous No. 98 car and his Resistol hat. The two identify Agajanian with racing fans all over the nation.

J. C. will be identified with new driver, however, Billy



BILLY VUKOVICH Aggie's 1968 Driver



DUANE CARTER Qualified in 1955



TONY BETTENHAUSEN
Two-Time National Champ



PARNELLI JONES 1963 Winning ear

Vukovich Jr., who built quite a reputation in local midget and sprint car events, will be testing Aggie's No. 98 at Indy.

Aggie has always been known as a developer of race drivers, rather than an innovator of cars and equipment. The list of men who have tooled Agajanian Specials around the brickyard looks like the Who's Who of racing. This group includes such greats as Parnelli Jones (winner 1963), Troy Ruttman (winner 1952) and Johnny Parsons (winner 1950).



RONNIE DUMAN Finished 23rd in '67

Developing drivers, another one of Aggie's trademarks, is just as important to racing as the development of cars and equipment. He leaves the developing phase of the game to the Andy Granitellis and the Carrol Shelbys, These men invest millions of dollars and thousands of man hours in new types of equipment, and then hire the well known drivers to race them. But J. C. prefers to use the types of cars others have developed and proven, then beat the bushes and find one young



TROY RUTTMAN Winner in 1952



man who has the competitive

drive and talent to make the

This is all accomplished

through a farm system in

much the same manner as major league baseball. Ag-

ajanian Enterprises, which

promotes racing events at places like Ascot Park and

other locations in California

is Aggie's farm system. Of course all this work would be

big time.



Troy Ruttman competing at these local tracks.

After all the "xpurts" finish telling all about the turbo cars and the big name drivers, Mr. Auto Racing will also be at the 500 with a new rookie driver in Billy Vukovich Jr., who could steal the show.



First Used in 1948



WALT FAULKNER From 1950-51 Era



JOHNNY PARSONS Won Race in 1950



CHUCK STEVENSON National Champion in 1952