## What All Drivers Should Know

Prepared By The Department of Motor Vehicles

Directions: These questions are official and the same you are asked when you apply for your knowledge by marking yes or no at the space at the end of the line. Correct answers printed below.

1. If you have an accident in which anyone is hurt, must you make a report in writing to the California Highway Patrol, or the police within 24 hours?.....

2. As a general rule, may you pass streets care on either the right or left side?....

3. When a person walking carries a white cane or a white cane with a red tip, does that mean he is blind?...

4. If the traffic light is red but a policeman directs you to go ahead anyway, must you do as directed?....

5. If you have a broken window or windshield in your carr, with sharp dangerous edges should you repair it at once?...

6. If you buy a care do you have 90 days in which to transfer ownership without penalty?

1. Yes. Answers

1. Yes. All such accidents occurring within a city must be reported to the local police department, otherwise, the report must be made to the local California Highway Patrol office or branch office of the Department of Motor Vehicles within 24 hours in either case. (Section 484 Vehicle Code)

2. No. Passing street cars on the left is prohibited except:

(a) When so directed by an officer.

officer.
(b) When upon a one way

street.

(c) When upon a street where the tracks are so located as to prevent passing on the right. (Section 570 Vehicle Code)

3. Yes. Only persons who are blind or partially blind may legally early such a cane on any

3. Yes. Only persons who are bind or partially bind may legally carry such a cane on any steet, highway or other public place. Motorists must take such precautions as may be necessary to avoid accidents or in jury to any person wholly or partially blind. (Chapter 126, Statutes of 1935) (Vehicle Code page 293)

4. Yes. It is unlawful to fail or refuse to comply with any lawful order or direction of any nember of the California Highway Patrol or any police officer when on duty to enforce traffic laws. (Section 451 Vehicle Code)

5. Yes. It is unlawful to operate any evhicle which is in an unsafe condition. (Section 679 Vehicle Code)

6. No. A transfer fee becomes due immediately and is delinquent in 10 days. If any fee is not paid within 30 days after the same becomes delinquent a penalty is added thereto. (Section 378 Vehicle Code)

## Pedestrian Killed In Redondo Beach

Struck by an automobile as he crossed Elena ave, and Pearl st, in Redondo Beach, John Har-ley, 83, 502 So. Gertruda ave, Redondo Beach, died last Dec. 7, in the Torrance Memorial hos-

LADIES FREE WRESTLING

Saturday, Dec. 15th 8:45 P.M.

Redondo Arena

123 S. El Paseo KING KONG KASHEY

1

FRANKIE CUTLER Iron Mike Work

Paul Matty Joe Potts

Ralph Alpertson

LADIES FREE!

OR RESERVATIONS CALL REDONDO 9800 SATURDAY, 10 A.M.

